You are currently viewing MONSTER MAGNET – Veröffentlichen ‘Mr. Destroyer’ (Po-Bah) Clip

MONSTER MAGNET – Veröffentlichen ‘Mr. Destroyer’ (Po-Bah) Clip

  • Beitrags-Autor:
  • Beitrags-Kategorie:

Spacigen Psychodlic Rock gibt es mal wieder von MONSTER MAGNET, die soeben ihr neues Album  „A Better Dystopia“ für den 21. Mai angekündigt haben. Ein Coveralbum bzw. ihr persönlicher Tribut an (auch) eher unbekannte Helden der Band soll es werden.

Dave Wyndorf erklärt das Album und die Auswahl:

“We all agreed that we would be bored out of our minds within a month of lockdown. MONSTER MAGNET loves the road. It’s a lifestyle. So, I considered our options. Rather than panhandle on the internet, hawking masks and Zoom-rocking practice sessions for dollars, I suggested we record a “bunker record”. A total DIY affair (band only) recorded and mixed in Bob Pantella’s small but potent Freak Shop Studios/rehearsal space right here in New Jersey. But what to record?

I didn’t feel much like writing, but working on anything was better than watching the news as hospitals filled up, people died, and American politics went bat-shit crazy. The world roared “Dystopia! Apocalypse! Revolution!”. I’d heard those words before, and they brought to mind my childhood in the late 60’s/early 70’s… and the music… and short playlist of songs (just one of many) that I’d been carrying around with me on my whatever device to listen to before shows. Of course, these tunes have also been in my head for more or less my whole life. These were not the popular hits of the time. This was like a playlist from the 4th dimension… strange bits of musical obscurity, mostly dredged up from that inglorious and freaky “twilight zone” time that preceded Arena Rock, Heavy Metal, Reggae and Disco. A no-man’s land of hard rock that still had remnants of psychedelia and garage punk but had abandoned any notion of “flower power” or frat house fun. And of course, they rocked.
Yeah, these songs were it. The great bands whose music we lovingly interpret here were (and some still are) on the fringe, underrated, and in our opinion, really, really cool. I think that’s reason enough for us to do this album. Furthermore, A Better Dystopia is a collection of songs that I think reflect (knowingly or unknowingly) a paranoid time in history, but also deflect that same paranoia by owning it, fully. And of course, it ROCKS.”




  1. The Diamond Mine
    2. Born to Go
    3. Epitaph for a Head
    4. Solid Gold Hell
    5. Be Forewarned
    6. Mr. Destroyer
    7. When the Wolf Sits
    8. Death
    9. Situation
    10. It’s Trash
    11. Motorcycle (Straight to Hell)
    12. Learning to Die
    13. Welcome to the Void – Bonus Track